Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: InSight, robotic Mars lander, geophysicist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California, USA

  1. #11


    NASA’s InSight landed on Mars!

    Published on Nov 26, 2018

    NASA’s InSight mission successfully landed on Elysium Planitia, Mars, on 26 November 2018, at around 19:54 UTC (12:54 PST, 15:54 EST). The InSight lander, short for Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport, is a NASA mission designed to study Mars’ interior structure.

  2. #12


    Mission Control Live: NASA InSight Mars Landing

    Streamed live 103 minutes ago

    Original air date: November 26, 2018 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET)

    See inside mission control at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory as signals return from the InSight mission as it lands on Mars. Landing commentary includes interviews with team members.

  3. #13


    Inside NASA's InSight landing on Mars

    Published on Nov 30, 2018

    Years of preparation, engineering and mind-boggling maths led to seven nail-baiting minutes that decided the fate of the InSight lander. Claire Reilly looks at the successful landing that could have gone very wrong.

  4. #14


    Sounds of Mars: NASA’s InSight Senses Martian Wind

    Published on Dec 7, 2018

    Listen to Martian wind blow across NASA’s InSight lander. The spacecraft’s seismometer and air pressure sensor picked up vibrations from 10-15 mph (16-24 kph) winds as they blew across Mars’ Elysium Planitia on Dec. 1, 2018.

    The seismometer readings are in the range of human hearing, but are nearly all bass and difficult to hear on laptop speakers and mobile devices. We provide the original audio and a version pitched up by two octaves to make them audible on mobile devices. Playback is suggested on a sound system with a subwoofer or through headphones. Readings from the air pressure sensor have been sped up by a factor of 100 times to make them audible.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st March 2017, 20:23
  2. Jet Propulsion Laboratory, NASA, Pasadena, California, USA
    By Airicist in forum Scientific institutions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th November 2016, 18:15
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th June 2015, 06:29
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st December 2014, 00:27
  5. InSight, unmanned Mars lander mission, NASA, USA
    By Airicist in forum Lander spacecraft
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th February 2014, 19:26

Социальные закладки

Социальные закладки

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •